Dirty Femme

Dear Butch,

I am a unquie breed of femme.  Not only because I am plus-size or that I am fairly tall, but because I really love being outside.  And not just the “strolling through rose gardens in wedge heels looking for a great place to blow my butches strap on” outside.  No, I mean tough and rumble in the grit and grim.  Strap on my pack and give me a paddle…get your mind out of the gutter, besides I prefer you to be wielding both of those items.  I love getting muddy on portages and stinky during a weekend of backpacking.  I have an impressive array of outdoor equipment, because a girl needs to be able to accessorize.  Being in the middle of the woods or on the edge of a lake is where I find peace and solace.  It is where I can challenge my physical strength and emotional roadblocks without being judged for my lack of lipstick or lace.  I feel like a warrior of the world and of my own thoughts.

I need you to respect this side of me.  Don’t question it.  Don’t accuse me of being a fake femme.  Don’t try to relabel me with whatever words you feel better fit who I am.  This is part of who I am and how I fit into the world.  Plus, I will let you kiss my battle bruises when I return.

Love,

Femme

One thought on “Dirty Femme

Leave a Reply

