One Year

Dear Butch,

(Roughly) a year ago I decided that I needed to raise my femme voice in the blog world and throw it out into the already exploding world of queer blogging.  I had followed several butch blogs for a year or two, but felt like the femme voice was missing.  Maybe, just maybe, I thought to myself…I could be the counter-point.  The nail polish to the motor oil.  High heeled Mary Janes to the Doc Martins.  Pink glossed lips to the strap-on.  You get the point.

I had been sitting at bars, concerts, and coffee shops sharing with friends my verbal “Dear Butch … Love, Femme” short clips.  It got a few chuckles and then it was suggested I start a blog.  I have a writing and social media background, I am not sure why I didn’t think of this before.  And so, the blog was born.

The brash and over-opinionated lady who at times tip-toed on the line of judgmental opened a blank blog post and went to work.  I never set out to change the world or our small section of the queer lady population.  Hopefully I have taught you a few things.  Life lessons to assist your swagger or moments of clarity into our coifed breed.  And if not, maybe with any luck, I have at least made you laugh.

Thank you for reading my words.  Thank you for supporting my work.  Thank you for accepting my voice.

Here’s to another 104 posts.

Love,

Femme

Leave a Reply

