Sandy Hook

Dear Butch,

I have tried extremely hard to write a post tonight in my usual tone.  With a great amount of humor, wit, and sex appeal.  But, try as I might, I am just not feeling it tonight.  Tonight, yesterday, these past few days my mind has been in Connecticut.  You got a crap cop-out post on Sunday, tonight I am not going to do that to you.  Tonight, I am going to write from the heart.

I have mentioned before that I have a nephew that I adore.  He is the only person that I have fallen in love with at first sight.  From the moment I first held him, just hours old, he had my heart.  My nephew is only months younger then the children tragically murder at Sandy Hook.  When I first heard the new last Friday, like many, sobbed at my desk.  All I wanted to do was hold my nephew and tell him how much I love him.  My office is littered with photos of his charming smile and artwork he made just for me.  Precious treasures of a child that I will be able to add on to, treasures that twenty sets of parents will look upon and wonder what could have come.

I am not a parent yet.  I am an aunt, with one nephew and two more babies on the way.  And I may not fully understand what great joy and sorrow a child can bring to a mother, but my heart breaks as a woman…as a human.

My prayers and ongoing support go out to the families and friends of Charlotte, Daniel, Olivia, Josephine, Ana, Dylan, Madeleine, Catherine, Chase, Jesse, James, Grace, Emilie, Jack, Noah, Caroline, Jessica, Avielle, Benjamin, and Allison.  Also, to the families and friends of Rachel, Dawn, Nancy, Anne, Lauren, Mary, and Victoria.

May we as a nation never allow this kind of catastrophe occur again.  May we finally stand up and say enough is enough.

Love,

Femme

Leave a Reply

